How to Access Allocatable Array Data from a Foreign Language Library

All,

I’m very new to Python, and C/C++ for that matter… I’ve been a Fortran programmer since the dawn of time, in an environment that didn’t really require expertise in interoperability with other languages. Times have changed!

I’m trying to build a Python script that accesses array data from a foreign language library (a Fortran DLL) that dynamically allocates memory for the array of interest. I gather from various online searches that this is not trivial to do, if even possible.

The Fortran function discussed here is a simplified example of the one I actually need to integrate with a Python script. But if I can get this example to work, I can make the real one work. The constraint is that the Fortran library itself is immutable… either it works as-is, or it doesn’t.

Although this is a Python forum, I’ll include the Fortran code here for completeness. It’s a simple function that fills an array whose size is initially undertermined:

Integer Function SimpleDLL(OutInt,OutArray) Bind(C, name="SimpleDLL")
      USE, INTRINSIC :: ISO_C_BINDING
      IMPLICIT NONE
      !DIR$ ATTRIBUTES DLLEXPORT :: SimpleDLL
      Integer(C_INT), INTENT(OUT) :: OutInt
      Real(C_FLOAT), Allocatable, INTENT(OUT) :: OutArray(:)
      Real :: r,sum
      Integer :: i,j

i = 0
      sum = 0
      Call RANDOM_SEED()
      Do While (sum <= 5)
        Call RANDOM_NUMBER(r)
        sum = sum + r
        i = i + 1
      EndDo
      Allocate(OutArray(i))
      Do j = 1,i
        OutArray(j) = FLOAT(j)**(i/5.)
      EndDo
      OutInt = i
      SimpleDLL = 5/i

End Function SimpleDLL

The above is compiled into a DLL that is interoperable with C via the BIND(C) directive (and hence, in principle, is interoperable with Python). I have verified that this DLL can be succesfully called from a Fortran driver that declares the function argument corresponding to OutArray to be an allocatable C_FLOAT array.