Steering Council nomination: Petr Viktorin (2022 term)

Alright, let me ignore impostor’s syndrome and let y’all decide if I should help make decisions.

About me

I’ve been a core developer since 2018, after working with Nick Coghlan on module isolation/stable ABI. I’ve inherited this problem area from him, and I’ve been slowly working on this ever since, mostly in “20% time” at work. Over the years I’ve (co-)authored:

• PEP 489 Multi-phase extension module initialization
  • PEP 573 Module State Access from C Extension Methods
  • PEP 630 (informational) Isolating Extension Modules
  • PEP 652 Maintaining the Stable ABI

I work in Red Hat’s Python Maintenance team, integrating Python into Fedora and RHEL distros. In this “non-20%” part of my day job, I’ve co-authored these informational PEPs:

• PEP 394 The “python” Command on Unix-Like Systems
  • PEP 627 Recording installed projects (revision of a packaging spec)
  • PEP 672 Unicode-related Security Considerations for Python

Locally, I’ve helped bootstrap PyLadies CZ in 2013, and every year since then I’ve been teaching Python in free community courses organized by/for Pyladies CZ.

Agenda

Issues I’d like to drive if I’m elected:

• Stability. I want Python to be a solid foundation to build upon. Unless there is a real reason to break users’ code, we should not break it. The current guidelines we’ve set for ourselves allow too much trivial breakage, and aren’t even followed in some cases. My opinion, however unpopular, is that we should put stability first. This adds a constraint to each technical puzzle we solve: if I have my way, new features and improvements will be harder for us to add, but easier for users to use.
    I’m not saying we can’t have breaking changes, but that we should think long and hard about each one.