I'm stuck in recursive function

Hello, I’m new in Python. I follow a python bootcamp course in Udemy, and one of the project is a blackjack game. I found the code is simple, but feels a bit too simple. Instead showing the card, it just showing a card value. I made some tweaks here and there, using recursion, aand it’s break a bit.

I’ve documented some of the problems I got in comments section in # !— —! pattern. Maybe it’s because I’m a newbie, yet trying to chew things I can’t swallowed.
Please shed some lights to me.

import random

# ---- INITIALIZATION ----
# Cards

the_card = {
    "2" : 2,
    "3" : 3,
    "4" : 4,
    "5" : 5,
    "6" : 6,
    "7" : 7,
    "8" : 8,
    "9" : 9,
    "10": 10,
    "J" : 10,
    "Q" : 10,
    "K" : 10,
    "A" : 11,
}

# Initial account

initial = int(input("How many dollars you bring to the table?  $"))

# ---- Functions ----
# ---- Betting function ----

def bet(acc):
    ''' Betting function '''
    while True:
        your_bet = int(input("How many you willing to bet?  $"))
        if your_bet > acc:
            print("Your bet is higher than your account. Please repeat all.")
            continue
        else:            
            return your_bet
# ---- Draw cards ----
def dealing(cards):
    ''' Dealing card function. Return card lists and their value. '''
    print("Game start.")
    your_card = [random.choice(list(cards.keys())) for i in range(0, 2)]
    your_val =  sum(cards[i] for i in your_card)
    dealer_card = [random.choice(list(cards.keys())) for i in range(0, 2)]
    dealer_val = sum(cards[i] for i in dealer_card)
    return your_card, your_val, dealer_card, dealer_val
# ---- Adding card ----
def add_card(hand, cards):
    '''Draw another card '''    
    new_card = random.choice(list(cards.keys()))
    hand.append(new_card)
    new_val = sum(cards[i] for i in hand)
    return hand, new_val
# ---- Compare hands ----
# !--- open_hand() returns None ---!