List dependencies of a package

Hi, I’m a developer for the Spack package manager. Spack is a general-purpose package manager, similar to Conda in the sense that it can build both Python and non-Python libraries. Like Conda, Spack package recipes explicitly list all build and run dependencies. Unlike Conda, Spack packages usually contain several different versions, each of which may have a different set of required dependencies. Obviously, this can be difficult to maintain, and we would like to find a way to automate this if possible.

Python packages can list their dependencies in one of several places:

• pyproject.toml: usually just build dependencies are listed, unless tools like flit/poetry are being used
  • setup.cfg: only for projects that use the setuptools build system
  • setup.py: for packages that need to dynamically change their deps
  • requirements.txt: for packages that use pbr or load this file in their setup.py
  • any others?
  • possibly all of the above in a single project

In order to parse all of these, Spack would need parsers for TOML, INI, Python (not possible), TXT, and possibly more file formats. However, pip seems to be able to parse all of these, and tries to download dependencies if they are missing. Is there any pip API to get this list of packages? Ideally I would be able to get back a list like:

build_requires = ['setuptools>=32', 'wheel']
install_requires = ['numpy~=1.21.0', 'colorama; platform=="Windows"']
extras_require = {
    'foo': ['foo', 'bar'],
    'baz': ['baz==1.2.3'],
}

If I can get that level of information, I can translate that to the equivalent Spack terminology. I can then do this for every version of every Python package, making it easier to update things.