License of Python documentation and its translations

Hi there,

I’m having a hard time to understand what is the license and what can/cannot be done with the content of the documentation (+translations). The reason I’m asking is that there is an eBook of the Python documentation (translated version) being sold in a marketplace. Is this something possible/legal? What is the best contact to send the details?

Cheers!
Marco.

As long as the copyright notice is still attached, I believe it’s legal (but IANAL).

The email to reach out to is legal@python.org .

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer.

That said, the Python license (cpython/LICENSE at main · python/cpython · GitHub) starts with these two clauses (emphasis mine):

1. This LICENSE AGREEMENT is between the Python Software Foundation
    (“PSF”), and the Individual or Organization (“Licensee”) accessing and
    otherwise using this software (“Python”) in source or binary form and
    its associated documentation

2. Subject to the terms and conditions of this License Agreement, PSF hereby
    grants Licensee a nonexclusive, royalty-free, world-wide license to reproduce,
    analyze, test, perform and/or display publicly, prepare derivative works,
    distribute, and otherwise use Python alone or in any derivative version,
    provided, however, that PSF’s License Agreement and PSF’s notice of copyright,
    i.e., “Copyright (c) 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010,
    2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 Python Software Foundation;
    All Rights Reserved” are retained in Python alone or in any derivative version
    prepared by Licensee.

So it would seem legal. For translations, I’m not 100% sure it’s the same everywhere, but at least on GitHub - python/python-docs-fr: French translation of the Python documentation. it’s CC0 which is even more permissive.

What is the eBook’s translated language, by the way?