How to convert a strange hashing algorithm from PHP to Python?

Hi everyone - I’m trying to implement a legacy hashing algorithm written in PHP into Python. But I’m having some trouble, and I think it’s when trying to find an equivalent of the pack function from PHP.

The purpose of doing this is so that users of a website with passwords hashed with the old algorithm will be able to authenticate with the new, rewritten site (at which point their password will be hashed with something better). I’m relatively new to Python but not new to coding in general.

Here’s the PHP code. I will follow it up with the Python equivalent I’ve written. The password and seed are just sample data, but I expect it to always produce the same output every time.

$password = "password";
$seed = "dfa187ec";

$key  = str_pad($seed, 64, chr(0));
$ipad = str_repeat(chr(0x36), 64);
$opad = str_repeat(chr(0x5c), 64);

echo md5(($key^$opad) . pack('H*', md5(($key^$ipad) . $password)));

This produces the output e53ae584fb2ac17712785143b7bd1279 which is what I will expect when using the same data in Python.

Here’s my Python implementation (it’s a bit more verbose than the PHP algorithm for the sake of clarity):

from binascii import unhexlify
import hashlib

password = 'password'
seed = 'dfa187ec'

key = seed.ljust(64, chr(0))
ipad = chr(54) * 64
opad = chr(92) * 64

# Equivalent of PHP $key^ipad
ipad_xor = ""
for c in [ord(a) ^ ord(b) for a,b in zip(ipad, key)]:
    ipad_xor += chr(c)

# Equivalent of PHP md5($input)
hashed = hashlib.md5((ipad_xor + password).encode('utf-8')).hexdigest()

# Equivalent of PHP pack('H*', $input)
packed = ""
for c in unhexlify(hashed):
    packed += chr(c)

# Equivalent of PHP $key^opad
opad_xor = ""
for c in [ord(a) ^ ord(b) for a,b in zip(opad, key)]:
    opad_xor += chr(c)

final_hash = hashlib.md5((opad_xor + packed).encode('utf-8')).hexdigest()

print(final_hash)