Understanding site-packages directories

I’m a developer for the Spack package manager. Spack is similar to Conda in the sense that it can install both Python and non-Python libraries, and similar to Nix in the sense that each package is installed to a unique installation prefix. Spack supports reusing system installations of Python (built with apt, yum, conda, etc.).

When dealing with Python installations, we’ve noticed that third-party Python libraries may be installed in one of several directories:

• lib/pythonX.Y/site-packages on most POSIX systems
  • lib64/pythonX.Y/site-packages on RHEL/CentOS/Fedora with system Python
  • lib/pythonX/dist-packages on Debian/Ubuntu with system Python
  • lib/python/site-packages on macOS with framework Python
  • Lib/site-packages on Windows
  • others?

We would like to know this directory ahead of time so that we can set PYTHONPATH appropriately. My question is, when installing a Python library, how does the site-packages directory get decided? Does it depend on the installation method? For example, do all of the following make the same decisions:

• distutils: legacy python setup.py install (deprecated)
  • setuptools: legacy python setup.py install (deprecated)
  • pip: pip install
  • installer: python -c 'import installer; installer.install(...)'
  • others?

So far the most reliable method I’ve found is to query distutils.sysconfig.get_python_lib(...) (deprecated) or sysconfig.get_path(...). Is this how these installation methods make the decision? How do these installation methods decide whether to use purelib or platlib?

Note: I originally opened this question on the setuptools GitHub but it seems like this question is better asked to the broader community.

3 Likes