Indentation in python

hello. i am a total noob. new to coding, new to python. i write code in the jedit text editor i get indentation errors on some of my code but i can’t figure it out. the indentations in jedit are correct. now here’s the kicker. sometimes the code works and sometimes it doesn’t. this is driving me crazy!!! the program is a financial calculator that uses the basic formula interest = principle * rate * time. i write code in the main function like so and it works:

#main definition
def main():
	print('Welcome to the financial calculator')

#function calls

#call to main
main()

testing this code i get the expected output. as soon as i add a second function

#enter_data definition
def enter_data():```

i get an indentation error on the main function definition, yet as you can see the indentation is correct at 4 spaces.  i have it setup automatically in jedit.  sometimes i get the error message adding if blocks to main() or enter_data().  please help before i loose it.

Your broken code example wasn’t posted properly, so we can’t see it. Please try copying and pasting the entire ‘broken’ version of your code in between the ‘````’ markers, and don’t put anything else between then.

Hi Joe,

We’re more than happy to help you, but you have to help us to help you.

We’re not mind-readers and can’t guess what the problem is without seeing either your code or the full error message :slight_smile:

Well, actually we can guess, but its not always very accurate :slight_smile:

My guess is that you have code that looks like this:

def enter_data():

def main():

main()

Am I close? The problem is that the enter_data function has no code inside it, and the interpreter thinks that def main is meant to be inside enter_data. Yes, you can put functions inside other functions!

So my guess is that Python is complaining that def main is not indented, probably something like:

IndentationError: expected an indented block after function definition

Am I close?