Can't dynamicaly populate IntegerField/DecimalField on a web form

Hi!
I’m new to python, trying to figure out how to populate fields on a webform with python code.
I hope i’m submitting the question to the right forum…

I’m using a WTForms. On the form I have a few DecimalField and IntegerField fields.
An example (forms.py file):

forms.py

from flask import Flask
from flask_wtf import FlaskForm
from wtforms.fields import *

app = Flask(name)

class myForm(FlaskForm):
price = DecimalField(“Retail Price”, default=0)
qty = IntegerField(“Quantity”, default=0)
name = StringField(“Product Name”)
submit = SubmitField(‘Submit’,id=“submit”)

if name==“main”:
app.run(debug=True)

In an html page (home.html) they are represented like:

Home.html

{{ form.hidden_tag() }}
{{ form.name.label }} {{ form.name }}
{{ form.qty.label }} {{ form.qty }}
{{ form.price.label }} {{ form.price }}

{{ form.submit() }}

When a user clicks the Search button the page has to populate all fields with values from a database.

Here is my shortened version of the main python page (basic.py):

basic.py

from flask import Flask
from flask_wtf import FlaskForm
from wtforms.fields import *
from forms import *

app = Flask(name)
@app.route(’/’, methods=[‘GET’,‘POST’])

def index():
form=myForm()
if form.validate_on_submit():
if request.form[‘submit’] == ‘Search’:
# the Search button was clicked so the fields are populated with a database retrieved values
form.name.default = “Cabernet Sauvignon” # this field is populated just fine
form.price.default = 23.45 # this line doesn’t populate the value into the field though
form.qty.default = 5 # this line doesn’t populate the value into the field either
else: # user has field in the form so the input is going to be entered into the database.
# This part works just fine.
price = form.price.data
qty = form.qty.data
name = form.name.data
return render_template(‘home.html’, form=form)

if name==‘main’:
app.run(debug=True)