Request for comment: Making PEP for NOSQL databases

Request for comment: Making PEP for NOSQL databases

Hello everybody,

this is my first time writing in this section and I hope I’m not out of place.

I wanted to propose a new PEP that describes the APIs that a NOSQL database library should have, as I am going to describe below.

These types of databases are spreading very quickly and I believe it is necessary to have common interfaces between libraries. In fact, all four types of NOSQL databases have similarities on the most common operations (CRUD operation) and on database level operations.
This approach has already been defined for SQL databases in this PEP 249. The python libraries that follow this PEP are many and have the same interfaces for objects, methods and functions.

Many python SQL libraries follow PEP 249, using functions, methods and properties with the nomenclature mentioned therein.
This leads to a much easier development and use consistency of these libraries.

I wanted to create a similar thing for NOSQL databases although there are many differences between the four types of databases, grouping them into four categories:

• Column database, such as Apache Cassandra
  • Key/Value database, such as Redis
  • Document database, such as MongoDB
  • Graph database, such as Neo4j

These four types of databases have different characteristics on how data are requested and how they are inserted but they also have some common peculiarities.

On this assumption I have created a library of interfaces which should represent these common characteristics. I have also written a series of tests to simulate the behavior of existing libraries by encapsulating their methods in interfaces.

nosqlapi is an interface/ORM/utility library that is used to write, in turn, python libraries for NOSQL databases, so that they reflect the characteristics of the interfaces and therefore, of the API.