Serial read with python

Hi,

Firstly I’m new with python. I’m trying to read values on the serial line to plot a graph. In my serial monitor putty everything is in the right way printed on the serial line.

But when I’m trying to read it with python it adds an character and because of this the graph can not be plotted.

Can someone help me out where this character comes from and how I can get rid of it?

Kind regards,

JP

It add an \x but don’t filters it with data.decode()

Welcome, JP!

We will be able to help you better if you post your code and data as characters (no screen images).

Post code and data between backtics like this:

```
<code here>
```

Yes, it appears that Python is not decoding the \x00 byte. However, the problem is probably not with Python.

Serial communication is simple, but also complex and not easy.

What is your programming experience before Python?

Have you worked with serial communication before?

It looks like your port settings might be wrong. Do you know what settings your serial connection uses? It appears that your STOPBITS are too small or BYTESIZE is too large and Python is receiving a control byte along with the data bytes.

import serial

ser = serial.Serial(
    port='/COM4',
    baudrate=57600,
    parity=serial.PARITY_ODD,
    stopbits=serial.STOPBITS_TWO,
    bytesize=serial.SEVENBITS
)

while(True):
    print(ser.readline())

ser.close()

Hi Leland,

I’m not familiar with python, but I can do things with C. I use an nrf52840 to send adc values over ble. This is the client side. I do receive the values with an ble dongle and try to read it to plot it in a graph. This is the python code I found online and give it a try:

import serial
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt

plt.ion()
fig=plt.figure()

i=0
x=list()
y=list()
i=0
ser = serial.Serial('COM7',115200)
ser.close()
ser.open()
while True:

data = ser.readline()
    print(data.decode())
    #x.append(i)
    #y.append(data.decode())

#plt.scatter(i, float(data.decode()))