How to parse a file, looking for a match to a command line argument?

I’m brand new to Python (still SO much to learn!) and working on my first project. I’d prefer you don’t respond with the code I need but rather with info that will tell me where to find the answer on my own.

I’m creating a script - ref - that I can use as a cheatsheet for various commands as I learn. I’m learning Linux commands, HTML, CSS, and Javascript, too, so I’ll have one reference file per language. To open (for example) the python reference file (pythonref.html - filled with notes I’ve added using my ref script), I want to be able to type ref p rather than ref python. I plan to use a csv file for these abbreviations:

p,python
l,linux
h,html
c,css

and I want my script to parse that file, comparing the first letter of each line to the first argument specified - and when it finds a match, it gets the 2nd part of the matched line and uses it to set the reffile var to the filename of the reference file. So if the arg passed is c, then the reffile var will be set to cssref.html. If the arg passed is p, then the reffile var will be set to pythonref.html, etc. To complicate things a bit, there may be 1 arg passed or there may be 2. The second arg is for an action - a to add an entry to the file, r to remove an entry from the file, etc. If there’s only 1 arg passed, then the default is to open the file.

What’s the right way to do this? I’ve looked at (and understand) how to parse the command args using sys.argv it’s parsing the csv file and getting that second value that has me stumped.

Thank you for your time and consideration!

Why do you want to store those abbreviations in a file, instead of in a data structure in your program (like a dictionary, for instance)?

By Don Ferris via Discussions on Python.org at 23Jul2022 23:44:

I’m brand new to Python (still SO much to learn!) and working on my
first project. I’d prefer you don’t respond with the code I need but