Maintenance of planetpython.org

Hope this is the right place to ask about this (i couldnt find another discuss category that would be a better fit). i would like to bring up the situation of planet python: the github repo Commits · python/planet · GitHub has not seen a commit since March 2022, and there are some easy PR/issues that could be addressed (the most annoying one being Remove ItsMyCode for spamming · Issue #521 · python/planet · GitHub).

I’m a core developer, and i wouldnt mind taking over maintenance of that repo: how to i “apply”? :slight_smile:

thanks!

2 Likes

Moved this to PSF, but I’m not sure if they’re the ones to talk about website maintenance with either.

1 Like

Would like to offer the same. Project seems to experience major struggle…

No reply at official Python project bugtrackers for 7 days, no reply in the official forums for asking how to help with the - obviously - struggling PSF-Project for more than 24 hours … does Python have any volunteer-issues? Again: How to help?

I have no idea who has write access to this repository. Does Github provide any way of finding out?

I don’t believe there’s a maintenance issue at hand. It just sometimes takes a few days for people to notice PRs and it’s vacation time at the moment :slight_smile:

In any case, I had a look and found that I could merge the PR, so I did. I don’t seem to be getting notifications for PRs on that repo, though. I fixed that, so there’s an additional set of eyes to watch for changes now.

3 Likes

No worries and many thanks. My main question was as someone who isn’t a maintainer, how do I find out who is a maintainer? I went onto the project page because I wasn’t sure if I might be (as a member of the Python organisation) and the only way I appeared to be able to find out was the fact that I wasn’t able to merge the PR.

(To be clear, I’m not asking to be made a maintainer :slight_smile:)