Getting the syntax error on python interpreter and not on command line

The same code from the same file was executed successfully on the command line.
But the very same code from the python interpreter did not work, gave a syntax error. Im new to python , and im not sure what am i missing. Appreciate any help provided. please find the file with the screenshot

To do what you’re trying to do here, you would:

>>> import Test

If you want to use the print() function, from within the Python shell:

>>> print("Passion for Python")

There’s the operating system console prompt C:\...>, where you type operating system commands, and there’s the Python prompt >>>, when you type Python code. They are not the same. The operating system understands only operating system commands, and Python understands only Python.

1 Like

Thankyou for the response Rob.
your suggestion did work.
this one is not stopping me in moving forward in my learning, but im curious that only once this import works ,after that i try to run the code it just goes to the prompt. i understand that the import works only once , now if i need to run it again, i have to open another console and execute. is there any other way to do this?
im not sure if this question is important. but just good to know this.

Thanks for your support

Thankyou for the response Matthew.
how do i execute the python script file from a python prompt?
is it possible?
if yes, then how?
if no, i understand that executing it from the system console prompt is already working.

You are very welcome.

You can start using the Python interpreter by simply entering python3 at the cmd prompt (to keep things simple, I’ll leave out the full path):

C:\> python3

From there you’ll get to the Python prompt:

>>>

… from which you can enter any valid Python command and have the interpreter execute it (as you’ve already discovered). To exit Python, you enter the command quit()

>>> quit()
C:\>