Multiple "if" s in comprehensions vs "and"

I would write [x for x in y if x >2 and x % 3 == 1]

Someone else consistently doubles up the if and writes
[x for x in y if x >2 if x % 3 == 1]

Although I breeze through reading nested for loops in comprehensions, the doubled if format doesn’t scan as well for me, which is probably because I don’t read it often enough.

How about you, what scans best? What do you encounter most often?

I even did not know that it is possible to have multiple if clauses.

Is there a reason for that? At the moment I can only imagine it can be a little bit clearer if we need to split conditions to multiple lines:

[
    x for x in y
    if x > 2
        and x % 3 == 1]

vs

[
    x for x in y
    if x > 2
    if x % 3 == 1]

…but having an additional syntax possibility just because of that is bad IMHO.

5 Likes

I was a Python programmer before comprehensions were added, could that have a bearing? But I don’t read that doubled if much?

Neither do I. :slightly_smiling_face: It was already legal in Python 2.7.

I would write the version with the and, but my preference isn’t particularly strong.

I wonder whether there is a performance difference between the two?

I think it’s purely a matter of style.

[x
    for x in y
        if x > 2
            if x % 3 == 1
]

FYI

1 Like

I recommend using and rather than multiple if-clauses.

1. The origin of list comprehensions was from the set builder notation in mathematics where use of for a logical-and is the norm.