Need ideas for a program that finds keywords!

Helllloooo new friends!

I have recently been hired as a software engineer. Wild, honestly. I have a training project to work on that requires me to write a program that finds and highlights keywords in a document.

The trouble is, I’m on a very secure network and I am limited in the libraries that I can access. I have tried manually installing the packages, but it doesn’t seem to be working. Maybe I’m not doing it right.

Any and all ideas on how to work around this are so welcome! I’m new to programming, and I could use some tips!

I’d probably use regex (the re module) to search for the keywords.

1 Like

Trying to “work around” your employer’s security is a good way to get fired and maybe even have charges filed against you. Don’t do it.

Instead you go to your supervisor and say “I need to use these external libraries to solve the problem. Can you give me permission to download them? Using those libraries will save 20 or 30 hours from this task.” (Or whatever your estimate is.)

If you get permission, then you will probably need to talk to the system administrators managing the network, so they can do it for you.

Depending on the company you work for, this might take five minutes, or five months. I have done work for businesses where they had the legal obligation to do a full security and legal/copyright audit of third-party software they used, with potential million dollar fines if they got it wrong. You cannot rush those.

I’ve also worked for companies whose attitude to downloading third-party software was “try not to install any malware, m’kay?”

If you can’t get permission, or it will take too long, then you may need to reimplement some or all of the functionality you need using only the tools available to you.

That might be only the standard library, or any other third-party libraries or in-house libraries already approved for use.