Please explain the role of Booleans in this piece of code

Hi guys,

I am a total Python noob and currently I’m following a YouTube course on python. It also contains some basic coding exercises. One of them asks the student to create a simple game, to start a car. It looks like this:

if you type “help” it displays your options:

• type “start” to start the car
  • type “stop” to stop the car
  • type “quit” to terminate the program.
  • anything else you type it will return “i don’t understand”
    if you type “start” it will display:
    “Car started”
    similar if you type “stop”.
    But if you type start after the car is started it will display “Car is already started.” Similar if you type stop when car is stopped. There comes the role of the Booleans that I don’t quite understand. Here is the code:
command=""
started=False
while command !="quit":
    command=input(">").lower() 
    if command =="start":
        if started:
            print("Car is already started")
        else:
            started=True
            print("Car started")
    elif command=="stop":
        if not started:
            print("Car already stoped")
        else:
            started=False
            print("Car stopped")
    elif command=="help":
        print("""
        start -to start the car
        stop - to stop the car""")
    elif command=="quit":
        break
    else:
        print("I don't understand")