Help with list iteration: changing element value based on previous and next elements

Hello! I’m a student working on a project. I have searched for this solution everywhere. I’ve read every Python documentation regarding lists, re-read the chapters in my textbook that are supposed to cover this, searched online and watched more videos than I can count. I’m wondering if I can’t reach a solution because I’m approaching it from the entirely wrong direction.

My code:

import random
def list_eggs(chkns, eggs):
    ''' pen = [&s * eggs, 0s * randomly assigned number of indices w/out eggs],
        shuffle 0s and &s, index 0s, alter 0s to a value (0/1/2) depending 
        on number of adjacent &s '''

chkns = chkns - eggs
    pen = [0] * chkns
    egg_list = ["&"] * eggs
    new_pen = pen + egg_list

index = new_pen.index(0) 

random.shuffle(new_pen)
    print(new_pen)

def main():
    chkns = 5
    eggs = 4
    list_eggs(chkns, eggs)

main()

Ouput:

[0, '&', '&', '&', '&']

Variables chkns and eggs are actually user inputs taken and validated in their own functions. &s represent eggs and 0s, currently, represent chickens (chkns will range from 2 to 100; eggs will range from 1 to (chkns - 1)). I need the 0s to accumulate, update, increment, or some other method such that the position remains 0 if no &s are in adjacent indices, 0 = 1 if there is one adjacent &, or 0 = 2 if both adjacent indices contain an &.

i.e. I need the above output to read:

[1, '&', '&', '&', '&'] 

I’ve tried various slices, join() attempts, insert attempts, I feel like the solution is closest to this for loop:

for index in index.new_pen[0]:
    if index[-1] == "&":
        index += 1
    elif index[1] == "&":
        index += 1

However, this raises an AttributeError:

AttributeError: 'int' object has no attribute 'new_pen'