Steering Council nomination: Thomas Wouters (2023 term)

I’m again nominating myself for the Steering Council (2023 term).

A quick recap:

• I’ve been a core developer since 2000.
  • I’ve served on the SC since 2020 (my previous nominations: 2020, 2021, 2022).
  • I’m the Release Manager for Python 3.12 and 3.13.
  • I’m currently serving on the PSF Board of Directors as well (2020-2023 term) as the Chair. (I do not intend to run for re-election next year.)
  • I work at Google on the (internal) Python team.
  • I’m a denizen (as Yhg1s ) of the #python IRC channel on Libera .
  • I also exist on Mastodon as Yhg1s@social.coop (and also on Twitter).

As per last year, I don’t have specific goals in mind for the next Steering Council, or particular things I want to achieve as SC member, but I do have things I consider priorities: funding (and expanding!) the Developer-in-Residence program, Code of Conduct enforcement (thankfully less of an issue the past year), communication and openness. @pablogsal and I gave a keynote at PyCon US 2022 where we got to talk about this a bit. (Petr, Greg and Brett unfortunately couldn’t make it to PyCon US.)

For what it’s worth, I’m proud of the work the Steering Council has done in the last year (and before then), and @brettcannon, @gpshead, @encukou and @pablogsal are all superb SC members and you should vote for them all. I also think we have a great working relationship with the PSF (@Deb in particular.)