CMD redirects PY code to new window that disappears

When my code asks for an input of a web site for scrapping, CMD launches a new window. The new window disappears before I can read information.

I am a newbie learning Python by taking an online course, Python for Everyone by Dr. Chuck. Running programs from CMD worked perfectly. Then I did something attempting to install beautifulSoup4. It is 100% me and not the the package or python but is preventing me from continuing with the course.

The new CMD window has the path to the Python source code. There were online comments to create a path in environmental variables. I have now uninstalled that path. How to I keep python in the same CMD window?

I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling Python based on a forum that suggested the program launches a new window in CMD. I have checked for viruses and run scan.

Please help.

1 Like

What happens if you write py urllinks.py in the CMD window instead of just urllinks.py?
What happens if you write assoc .py? (For me it prints .py=Python.File)
What happens if you write ftype Python.File? (Or replace Python.File with the respective output you got from assoc.) (For me it prints Python.File="C:\WINDOWS\py.exe" "%L" %*)

(This means when I type urllinks.py into CMD, it will notice it’s a .py file, which is associated with the file type Python.File, which can be executed using the py command. So it runs as if I had typed py urllinks.py.)

Maybe on your system these associations are somehow different and include a step that opens a new CMD window?

1 Like

Peter, you are the man. I thank you very much.

I can now see my errors with the urllinks.py program so I can begin trouble shooting. Running py urlinks.py worked. My other replies are the same as yours. If you have ideas on what to check the system associations, I would appreciate it.