Native dependencies in other wheels -- how I do it, but maybe we can standardize something?

I’d like to discuss mechanisms for python packages/wheels to depend on native dependencies that were installed by other python wheels. Specifically, I’ve already solved this problem in a custom build tool and I think the way it’s implemented would be useful for other projects if this pattern + implementaton details existed in some standard/standalone form (maybe as part of packaging, for example?).

If there’s interest from the community in this topic, I’d be happy to work with others to make this a standard mechanism to use native dependencies across wheels. I’m also interested in hearing how others have solved this problem in different and/or similar ways.

Sidebar: Why not conda?

I’m not a data scientist, and I don’t use conda myself. When I first started going down this road in late 2019, my work colleagues who did use conda would often complain about issues they had with using conda, and the few times I had to interact with conda I didn’t have a particularly good experience.

I do recognize that Conda solves a lot of these problems that I had to deal with, but my customers are high school students and their (often non-software engineers) mentors. If my colleagues at work are running into a variety of issues when they use conda, there’s no way I was signing up for that support headache.

A lot of people use Conda to solve the binary dependency problem, but a lot of people can’t or won’t use it. This thread is about ways we can solve it when not using conda.

About Me