Why does pyqt6-tools attempt to build from source & fail with an error?

I’m REALLY new to python and am getting an error during a pip install of pyqt6-tools. It says This is an issue with the package mentioned above, not pip.
I have a screen grab of the error output, but no idea who to tell about it.

1 Like

Most likely the package author. A pypi.python.org listing, if one, should have an email address.

You can ask her. Show us all the text of the error.
Please no screen shots. Use the pre-formatted text option </> and cut-n-paste the all the text of the error message.

```
type or paste code here
```

What’s a β€œpypi.python.org listen” ?

(practice2-venv) C:\BCET\virtual-environments\practice2-venv>pip install pyqt6-tools
Collecting pyqt6-tools
  Using cached pyqt6_tools-6.1.0.3.2-py3-none-any.whl (29 kB)
Collecting click
  Using cached click-8.1.3-py3-none-any.whl (96 kB)
Collecting pyqt6==6.1.0
  Using cached PyQt6-6.1.0.tar.gz (946 kB)
  Installing build dependencies ... done
  Getting requirements to build wheel ... done
  Preparing metadata (pyproject.toml) ... error
  error: subprocess-exited-with-error

Γ— Preparing metadata (pyproject.toml) did not run successfully.
  β”‚ exit code: 1
  ╰─> [25 lines of output]
      Traceback (most recent call last):
        File "C:\bcet\virtual-environments\practice2-venv\Lib\site-packages\pip\_vendor\pyproject_hooks\_in_process\_in_process.py", line 353, in <module>
          main()
        File "C:\bcet\virtual-environments\practice2-venv\Lib\site-packages\pip\_vendor\pyproject_hooks\_in_process\_in_process.py", line 335, in main
          json_out['return_val'] = hook(**hook_input['kwargs'])
                                   ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
        File "C:\bcet\virtual-environments\practice2-venv\Lib\site-packages\pip\_vendor\pyproject_hooks\_in_process\_in_process.py", line 152, in prepare_metadata_for_build_wheel
          whl_basename = backend.build_wheel(metadata_directory, config_settings)