Beginner Project: Running Lap Timer?

Hi,

Not sure if this question is appropriate for this forum or not, so please say if I should be asking elsewhere.

Background
I’m a running coach and I’m looking for an app that would allow me to record the lap times of runners. I can’t find an existing app that will do the job, so I wondered if this is something I could learn to write myself in Python, with the help of the community?

The Functionality I Need

1. Add the names of each runner.
  2. Start a timer (to mimic a stopwatch)
  3. As each runner completes a lap, tap their name on screen.
  4. This would automatically store each of their lap times in a table column.
  5. When the runners complete a second lap, their times go into a second column. This repeats for however many laps are required.
  6. The app/site would also ideally keep a running total of the average lap time for each runner, so they can see their overall pace across the whole distance.

Question
If this feasible for a beginner to write in Python? I’m happy to take my time over it. There’s no rush.

Thanks

It doesn’t sound too difficult to me. Personally, I do it in tkinter because that comes as standard in the Python library, assuming you’re talking about running it on an actual computer. The tricky bit, I think, is tapping the screen at the right time as the runner completes a lap, especially if there are multiple runners completing laps in quick succession…

Thanks for replying. Tapping the screen on time hopefully shouldn’t be a big issue, as this will mainly be used for longer runs, tapping every lap rather than 100m for instance.

I’m new to Python, and hope to use this as a project to learn as I go.

Is there any advice you can give about how to approach this using Tkinter? E.g. Where to start and what the steps to complete this may look like?

I appreciate there’s probably many different ways to approach this, but I’d just appreciate some suggested guidance if at all possible.

Thanks again.