Meson-python and conda - am I doing it right?

I am trying to repackage my old code. I’d appreciate if someone could point out things I am doing the wrong way. This is my first project involving meson-python. The code works, I can install my package in n a conda environment and build conda packages. So, what I am really asking for, is code review.

I went with meson-python because I have other packages that include Fortran code. In the past I managed to build them by monkey-patching distutils. Anyway, here is what I came with:

pyproject.toml

[build-system]
build-backend = "mesonpy"
requires = [
    "cython >=0.29",
    "meson-python >=0.13",
    "numpy >=1.20",
]

[project]
name = "pyudunits"
dynamic = ["version"]
authors = [{name = "George Trojan", email = "george.trojan@gmail.com"}]
maintainers = [{name = "George Trojan", email = "george.trojan@gmail.com"}]
readme = "README.rst"
license = {file = "LICENCE"}
classifiers = [
    "Development Status :: 4 - Beta",
    "License :: OSI Approved :: GNU Lesser General Public License v3 (LGPLv3)",
    "Programming Language :: Python",
    "Programming Language :: Python :: 3.8",
    "Programming Language :: Python :: 3.9",
    "Programming Language :: Python :: 3.10",
    "Programming Language :: Python :: 3.11",
    "Topic :: Scientific/Engineering :: Atmospheric Science",
    "Topic :: Software Development :: Libraries :: Python Modules",
]
description="A simplistic units converter based on udunits2."
requires-python = ">=3.8"
# pip would try to find it
#dependencies = [
#  "udunits2"
#]

[project.optional-dependencies]
test = [
  "pytest >=7.0",
]

[project.scripts]
lsu = "pyudunits:lsu"

meson.build

project(
  'pyudunits',
  'c', 'cython',
  version: '2.0b0',
  meson_version: '>= 1.0',
  default_options: [
    'buildtype=debugoptimized',
    'c_std=c11',
  ],
)

py3 = import('python').find_installation(pure: false)

incdir_numpy = run_command(py3,
  [
    '-c',
    'import numpy; print(numpy.get_include())'
  ],