Confusing behaviour while using append() in a function

Hey all. I’m very new to python, learning by myself with a book and amazed by how a useful it is.
I understood that variables in function are local and even if named like variables used in the main script, they are 2 separate objects. I tested that, and I am ok with it.
However, I forgot about it earlier today, and realized that my script was giving me the proper answer when it shouldn’t as my function had no return statement.

Here is a simplified exemple of what happened:

def random_function(a, b):
    a.append('6')
    b = ['R']
    print(f'a in function = {a}')
    print(f'b in function = {b}')

a = ['1']
b = ['E']
print(f'a = {a}')
print(f'b = {b}')
random_function(a, b)
print(f'a = {a}')
print(f'b = {b}')

OUTPUT:

a = ['1']
b = ['E']
a in function = ['1', '6']
b in function = ['R']
a = ['1', '6']
b = ['E']

What confuses me is that, if I change the value of one of the 2 lists, the local and global effect are respected, but when I uses append(), it changes the value everywhere.
Is it normal and what is the explanation for this? I tried to look around for answers, but couldn’t find anything about this specificly.

2 Likes

In Python, things are passed as references. So when you have a function below, and you pass it a list, you are passing a reference to that list. In the case below, we pass what global a is referring to, which is our global list. As we enter the function, global a is referencing the global list, and the local a variable in the function is also referencing the global list. When we call the append of the local a, it appends the value to the global list as they both reference the same list. They are two separate variables referring to the same object.

def function(a):
    a.append(2)
    print(a)

a = []
function(a)
print(a)

OUTPUT

[2]
[2]