Vote to promote Kyle Stanley

I propose to promote Kyle Stanley as a core developer. I’ve been mentoring Kyle since September 2019 and can personally vouch for him being a perfect fit for the core team. He’s kind, humble, extremely supportive, and has great technical skills.

Some highlights:

In all honestly, I rarely see someone as excited about Python development as Kyle. I’ll continue mentoring and assisting Kyle for the next few months, however I think that he’s 100% ready to be promoted now.

Thank you for your vote!

• Promote
  • Don’t promote

0 voters

11 Likes

+1. I think I’ve only good things to say about Kyle’s contributions.

7 Likes

All of my interactions with Kyle have been great, and with the amount of work he’s done on the project plus Yuri’s mentoring, I’m certain he’d be a great core dev.

3 Likes

I know that we’re running close to the end of the vote and this looks to be a landslide anyway – I have been way too swamped to put together my normal “evidence-based recommendation” that I try to do for people whose work I know well enough, but I would also like to add my explicit +1 to this nomination.

Kyle pretty much fits my definition of the kind of core dev we should be looking for, in that he has focused a lot on improving the experience for new contributors, and giving good code reviews. He was one of the few people who took the time to review the C extension for the reference implementation for PEP 615, which was very helpful to me even though he frankly admitted that he wasn’t terribly familiar with the C API.

As much as generating new code, features and bugfixes is useful, my experience is that qualified reviewers are the bottleneck in a lot of our PR backlog, and I think Kyle’s activities so far indicate that a big part of what he’s bringing to the table is exactly what we need.

6 Likes