What, within __future__, made list[str] start working on 3.7?

Hello! This is my first time on these forums, though I’ve lurked for a long time.

I understand that PEP 585 lets us type hint the standard collection objects, like list[str], starting in 3.9 by default and optionally in 3.7 and 3.8 with __future__. This is great! I’d been looking forward to this feature for a while.

I’m kind of confused about how it works in practice, though. This code:

from __future__ import annotations
x: list[str] = ["a", "b"]

works today, as expected, in my various Python envs (one in 3.7.4 and one in some version of 3.8). But it didn’t prior to October 5th, when 3.9 was released.

How did this happen? How did the interpreter know that a future version of Python had been released, or that this code should somehow start working? What is it within __future__ that made this start working on October 5th?

I looked at the following places online:

but wasn’t able to find a satisfactory answer. I apologize if this is a stupid question, and hope that I’ve expressed myself clearly, but please let me know if I haven’t.

__future__ imports are special and must appear early because they modify the behavior of the Python bytecode compiler for the current module scope. The magic happens in Python/future.c and Python/compile.c. The Python module __future__.py is more or less for show. The future flag FUTURE_ANNOTATIONS sets the compiler flag CO_FUTURE_ANNOTATIONS. This instructs the compiler to call compiler_visit_annexpr instead of compiler_visit_expr for annotations. compiler_visit_annexpr turns the annotation expression into a string. The flag turns list[str] into the string "list[str]".

Thank you very much for the response. That clarifies things a lot!

I believe that’s the same future flag that allowed us to type hint class definitions with their own name (PEP 563), right, by turning the annotations into strings as you describe and evaluating them later?