RFC: improving pip security with package signing (PEP-458)

I’m hoping to get some eyeballs on a pip (draft) PR of mine: It implements PEP-458 in pip.

In short pypi.org will soon provide signed metadata that clients can use to verify that the package they download is what was originally uploaded to pypi.org and that the supply chain has not been tampered with. In the future the same infrastructure can be used to verify developer signatures as well.

My Pull Request has all the details but this link is probably better for code review purposes (it does not include the vendored dependencies). I’m looking for

1. high level review (I’m not a pip expert so may have integrated at wrong levels of abstraction)
  2. discussion on a couple of design aspects
    2.1 progress indication: currently disabled
    2.2 control over downloads: TUF (a new vendored dependency) controls download details
    2.3 threads: multithreading (in pip list -o/-u) is disabled in the PR

I’ve tried to explain much more in the PR cover letter. I’m hoping to get some discussion going on the PR but am happy to talk here as well.

I’m hoping the feature can be tested soon, but as of now a test server is not yet available.

3 Likes

As of November 13
https://github.com/pypa/pip/pull/9041#issuecomment-726758609 there are
some questions from Jussi that could use replies from folks here.

Hi there,

the PEP-458 talks about package signing that would be provided by PyPI. Are there any plans or a listing of “minimal requirements” that need to be met for self-hosted packages (outside of public PyPI)? Or is PyPI considered the implementation to host Python modules to support signed packages?

Thanks in advance for any replies!
Fridolin

Hi Fridolin,

I can share an overview – I’ve mostly looked at the client side issues but as high level description this should be match current plans for the backend too.