Steering Council Nomination: Mariatta (2021 Term)

Please accept my self nomination for Python Steering Council 2021.

Background and credentials

I’ve been a Python core developer since 2017. For my work for Python and the open source community, I’ve been awarded PSF Community Service award in 2018, Google Open Source Peer Bonus award in 2017 and 2020, and I became a PSF Fellow member in 2020. I have been a PSF Supporting member for a few years. I’ve also been featured as GitHub Maintainer Spotlight for GitHub Sponsors and The ReadME project.

I’m one of the few Python core developers in Canada. I moved to Canada 20 years ago. Now, I reside in Port Moody, which is about 30 kilometers outside of Vancouver, with my husband and two sons. I have over 15 years of professional experience as Software Developer/Engineer. In the first few years of my professional career, I worked with C# and .NET, and for the past 10 years, I’ve switched to developing web-based applications using Python and various Python web frameworks.

My involvement in the Python community goes beyond committing and writing codes and pull requests, but also in the form of community leadership and organization. I am also a public speaker, and have presented at various Python conferences worldwide.

URLs:

Contributions to Python and open source communities

• My focus area in CPython has been core-workflow improvements. I’ve created and maintained our workflow automation tools like cherry_picker.py, miss-islington, and blurb-it. I’m also interested in documentation and improving devguide and overall contributing experience.
  • I’ve been a co-chair for the Python Language Summit since 2019. One of my personal initiatives for the Python Language Summit was to make it more open and less exclusive. We’ve invited various non-core developers to participate in the Language Summit, and I heard that people do appreciate hearing perspectives from non-core developers at the summit.