Introducing this category and each other

My name is Brett and I am the dev manager for the Python extension for VS Code (I am also a Python core dev and steering council member). As outlined in About the Editor/IDE Integration category, I created this category as a place for those of us who work on Python integrations for editors and IDEs so we can talk about whatever.

If you feel up for it, please feel free to introduce yourself and what editor/IDE you help integrate Python for!

15 Likes

My name is AndrĆ© and I do not specifically work on integrating Python into an editor/IDE as such but am interested in editor/IDEs that could support additional plugins for Python-related tools. More specifically, Iā€™m looking at the possibility of eventually integrating Friendly-traceback into editor/IDEs.

Currently, the friendliest environment for doing so is VS Code (thanks Brett!) as illustrated on https://aroberge.github.io/friendly-traceback-docs/docs/html/editor.html. One really neat feature of VS Code that I discovered is the ability of clicking on a file location appearing on a Python traceback and have VS Code open the file at that location. This is something I plan to build upon for VS Code users interested in using Friendly-traceback.

While it is already in use in some other projects (such as HackInScience.org), Friendly-traceback is still in alpha development stage. Once it is a bit more mature, I would really like to be able to have it runnable ā€œat the click of a buttonā€ in as many editors/IDEs as possible. (See also https://aroberge.github.io/friendly-traceback-docs/docs/html/plugins.html.)

3 Likes

:wave: Hey folks, I help make Emacs and Python work together via conda :smile:

5 Likes

Hi, Iā€™m Paul Everitt, developer advocate with PyCharm. Thanks Brett for setting this up.

8 Likes

Hi there, Iā€™m Fabio and Iā€™m the developer for PyDev.