Implement a Defensive Security System

I apologize in advance if this is too long. I am studying for a test in app-sec and I have a lab in python (RepyV2 - a python variation) which I need to work on. Unfortunately, I am new to programming. I have just gotten started with Python. Basically, you are presented with a piece of code (reference monitor), and you are required to modify it to prevent a user/attacker from making the code perform certain unauthorized actions. How do I start? I need help Here is the code of the reference monitor:

“”"

""" 
TYPE="type"
ARGS="args"
RETURN="return"
EXCP="exceptions"
TARGET="target"
FUNC="func"
OBJC="objc"

class ABFile():
  def __init__(self,filename,create):
    # globals
    mycontext['debug'] = False   
    # local (per object) reference to the underlying file
    self.Afn = filename+'.a'
    self.Bfn = filename+'.b'

# make the files and add 'SE' to the readat file...
    if create:
      self.Afile = openfile(self.Afn,create)
      self.Bfile = openfile(self.Bfn,create)
      self.Afile.writeat('SE',0)

def writeat(self,data,offset):

# Write the requested data to the B file using the sandbox's writeat call
    self.Bfile.writeat(data,offset)

def readat(self,bytes,offset):
    # Read from the A file using the sandbox's readat...
    return self.Afile.readat(bytes,offset)

def close(self):
    self.Afile.close()
    self.Bfile.close()

def ABopenfile(filename, create):
  return ABFile(filename,create)

# The code here sets up type checking and variable hiding for you.  You
# should not need to change anything below here.
sec_file_def = {"obj-type":ABFile,
                "name":"ABFile",
                "writeat":{"type":"func","args":(str,int),"exceptions":Exception,"return":(int,type(None)),"target":ABFile.writeat},
                "readat":{"type":"func","args":((int,type(None)),(int)),"exceptions":Exception,"return":str,"target":ABFile.readat},