Should the Python Windows Store package have a default virtual environment?

Background: I’m a Python novice, but an experienced Windows developer. The Python Windows store package seemed like a great way for me to learn, but I quickly ran into complex error messages that really left a lot to be desired (shown below); the problem was I ran a setup.py script which tried to write into C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\PythonSoftwareFoundation.Python.3.9_3… One of the explicit suggestions in the error message was to log into an administrator account, which goes against windows best practices, especially for a package targeted at beginner/educational use.

After a bit of digging, I found that a virtual environments may be general Python solution, but virtual environments are not exactly documented as a beginner feature. It seems to me that if the Microsoft Store package somehow sets up a virtual environment (or something like it, e.g. by defining an environment variable) in a user-specific directory, this sort of message could be avoided. Does this make sense?

Or perhaps there’s a simpler way, e.g. defining a environment variable pointing to a per-user directory. Would this be PYTHON_PATH?

Repro

• Install Python 3.9 from the windows store
  • clone github/BurtHarris/pcbflow.git
  • cd pcbflow
  • git checkout try1
  • python setup.py install

Error message

PS C:\try\pcbflow> python setup.py install
running install
error: can't create or remove files in install directory

The following error occurred while trying to add or remove files in the
installation directory:

[Errno 13] Permission denied: 'C:\\Program Files\\WindowsApps\\PythonSoftwareFoundation.Python.3.9_3.9.1264.0_x64__qbz5n2kfra8p0\\Lib\\site-packages\\test-easy-install-18976.write-test'

The installation directory you specified (via --install-dir, --prefix, or
the distutils default setting) was: