Module help for a complete newbie

Hello everyone,

I’ve finished a beginner course and just started a second course for Python. I am using Python 3.9
I am having troubles working with imported modules… So I experimented with it and all worked fine, I did have trouble finding the modules I installed trough pip because the course was for 3.6 and it seemed to be in a different location on 3.9 (or is this my setup?). Anyways in the end I found it and the course was completed with succes.

Now however I wanted to try making my own little program using a module I found on Github: GitHub - openfoodfacts/openfoodfacts-python: Python package for Open Food Facts

Now first of all I don’t even know if I want to use this module but I wanted to check it out.
I can’t get it to work at all… So I installed it trough pip and I can find the folder with the .py and .pyc files in this location on my pc: /home/minty/.local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/openfoodfacts

This seems to be for Python version 2.7

When I try to use the import command for one of the files in the folder I ofcourse get this error: ModuleNotFoundError: No module named ‘products’

I can not find the module inside Python anywhere, only on my pc in that folder.

So the question is: how can I simply add a folder location in Python as a usable module folder?
Can this be done/used if the module is made for an older version of Python? Or do I have to start my project in Python 2?