Need help with looping

Hi, I am new to python and need some help with a simple loop. I want the code to loop this section input("You are in the Lost Forest\n****************\n****** \n (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻\n*************\n****************\nGo left or right? ") until the user inputs left(or something other than right). I can do that on it’s own but somehow it’s interactions with my counter is not continuing to loop after the counter ends. I’ve tried varying combinations of nested loops and can’t seem to get it quite right. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

n = input("You are in the Lost Forest\n****************\n****************\n :)\n****************\n****************\nGo left or right? “)
while n == “right” or n == “Right”:#makesureyoudupe n==”"bothsidesofor
for n in range(4):
input("You are in the Lost Forest\n****************\n****************\n :(\n****************\n****************\nGo left or right? ")
input("You are in the Lost Forest\n****************\n****** \n (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻\n*************\n****************\nGo left or right? ")
print(“You got out of the Lost Woods\o/”)

It’s impossible to understand your code with the indentation missing like this (hint: put ``` before and after your code to make a code block in discourse), but

• you appear to be using the variable n for two different things and
  • did you mean to ignore the return value of the 2nd and 3rd calls to input?
1 Like

lostwoods1

Here is an image depicting the code a little clearer. It does everything(prints first input, prints second input 4 times, prints 3rd input) except when I continue typing right after the 3rd input it just prints out the final line(6). Where as I would like the code to continue showing input 3(line5) until the user inputs something other than “right” or ‘Right’.

Thanks again for the help.

Think about all the places you are assigning (or not assigning) the variable n.