Baffled complete newbie

Can anyone take the time to explain to a complete newbie why this wont print? Thanks.
‘’’
weight_lbs = input('What is your weight? ')

weight_kg = int(weight_lbs)*.45

print(weight_kg + ’ kg ‘)
‘’’
It returns TypeError: unsupported operand type(s) for +: ‘float’ and ‘str’

Reading and understanding error messages is importan skill. This is quite self-explanatory: what should happen if you try add float (weight_kg) and str (‘kg’)? I don’t know, neither does Python.

To overcome this I suggest of using f-strings:

print(f"Your weight is {weight_kg} kg")

As per the above post, or do a type conversion in the print() function:

print(str(weight_kg) + " kg")

print(weight_kg + ’ kg ')

The print() function will coerce parameters into a string before it
writes them to your display, but in this case you’re passing an
expression as a single argument:

weight_kg + ' kg '

That’s where the error comes from. You can’t add a floating point
number and a string to one another. There are a few ways around
this… you could simply make them separate arguments to the print()
function so that it will convert the float to a str for you:

print(weight_kg, 'kg')

Or you could recast the float to a str yourself in the argument:

print(str(weight_kg) + ' kg')

Or you could use string formatting to inject the float into a
template:

print('%f kg' % weight_kg)

Or you could use an f-string if you have a new enough Python
interpreter:

print(f'{weight_kg} kg')

I could probably list half a dozen more ways, but it all comes down
to either solving your invalid expression before passing it to the
function, or splitting it into multiple expressions which
individually work as arguments to the function.

thanks all. Really appreciate the rapid responses, I will try and understand what you have all been so kind to share…

Welcome to Python! It’s a very fun language.