Best practice for returning unknown data type from a dict?

Python 3.12 on Windows 10 Pro. I’m still fairly new to Python and have not seen this covered in my tutorial.

I’m not finding much at all after a Google search.

I have a function which checks to see if a dictionary key exists. And if it doesn’t, it returns a blank string ''. But sometimes the value in the dict can be a string, float, or int. Or the key may not exist at all, which is where I’m having trouble.

Let’s make an example program.

#######################################################
def getdictval(mydict,key):
    r'''If key exists, then return data, else return blank
    string.
    In:  dictionary; key to dict.
    Out: Value from dict. 
    '''
    procname = str(inspect.stack()[0][3]) + ":"
    val = '' # Default value is blank string.
    if key in mydict: 
        val = mydict[key]
    return val
#######################################################

mydict = {'firstname': 'John', 'age': 32, 'score': 83.4}

print(getdictval(mydict,'firstname')) # This works.

# Key does not exist but I'm expecting a number, so I get an error because empty string '' is returned.
num = getdictval(mydict,'myfloat')
# Error below: TypeError: '>' not supported between instances of 'str' and 'int'
#if num > 0.0: 
#    print("It is more than zero.")

# If I do this I get another error. Error below.
# ValueError: could not convert string to float: ''
if float(num) > 0.0: 
    print("It is more than zero.")
  1. What are ways for me to deal with this?
  2. Should I pass the type of variable I want returned into the getdictval() function as parameter 3? I may expect to return a str, float, or int.

My idea to pass the data type I want:

def getdictval(mydict,key,dtype):
    # Init default value.
    val = '' # Default value returned is blank string.
    if dtype == 'float': 
        val = mydict.get(key,0.0)
    elif dtype == 'int': 
        val = mydict.get(key,0)
    elif dtype == 'str':