Branch protection rules in peps repository?

Over in this comment @CAM-Gerlach suggests turning on “Require conversations resolution before merging”, which I think makes sense for the PEPs repository. Let’s leave the question about python/cpython alone for now.

Reviewing the branch protection rules, I’d also suggest turning on “Require status checks to pass before merging”, but I think the rest we can leave off.

I’m a repo admin so I can turn them on, but I wanted to see if there are any objections first. Take a few days. Or maybe I’ll just turn them on and see if anyone complains. :wink:

8 Likes

Yeah, that would be a good idea (and have advocated for it in the past) since it will prevent commits from being directly pushed to the live PEPs site that break something for everyone (while still allowing authors full flexibility to change their own PEPs autonomously, so long as the build passes).

We could also enable Require a linear history, since we only have squash merges enabled anyway, and it would avoid someone accidentally pushing a merge commit to main, which would pretty much always be an unintended mistake.

Finally, the other non-branch protection setting I’d strongly suggest enabling is the new Default to pull request title and commit details option for the squash merge commit message (in case it isn’t on already, which it might be), which uses the PR title as the commit summary, but also lists the individual commit messages as bullets below that. This would resolve the longstanding issue (that a number of folks have raised issues with that the often much less descriptive/carefully worded first commit message gets used instead of the typically much better PR title, even if the latter is updated by the original author, a PEP editor or another core reviewer, while throwing away the other commit messages.