Can't install exe file in my Python312/Scripts folder

Hello!

I’m trying to update my python version from 3.10 to 3.12, all works perfectly.
When I wrote pip install jupyter I had no issue print, all the correponding packages were installed in Python312/lib/site-packages.

However, the jupyter.exe file isn’t installed in Python312/Scripts folder.

I guess a solution would be to copy paste the Scripts folder from Python310/Scripts to Python312/Scripts, but that won’t be a durable solution.

I’m pretty new to this so if you need any further informations, please tell me (it could be logs or paths etc.)

Thanks!

Its almost always going to be a problem if you copy files from one python installation into another.

I’m not a jupyter user, but I assume that you will install a new jupyter package for 3.12. Following the same steps you used to install for 3.10 I’d guess.

Hi,

why don’t you uninstall v3.10 (and any other versions) and just keep one on your system (the latest version) so that there are no PATH conflict issues when installing packages? Also, when creating scripts, don’t save them to the Python path. Instead, save them to a local directory that is independent of the Python version path so that you won’t have issues when you want to uninstall previous versions.

Hello,

In fact I don’t want to uninstall Python 3.10 before the 3.12 works correctly.
When listing aliases, I can see that pip use correctly the one in my Python312 folder.
Also I changed all Path environemment variables from Python310 to Python312.

I don’t know if I was clear but I don’t really create scripts, it just automaticly builds when I do pip install jupyter in the Python312/Scripts folder before

Where is it installed? Is it installed on v3.10?

or

Which is it?

It is installed in Python310/Scripts/jupyter.exe for the moment yes.

When I say all works correctly, it was until this moment, but code can run using python312

The problem is in front of you.