EMPATH PACKAGE - inclusion of seed terms

Hi there!

I am new to Python and data Science in General.
I want to use the EMPATH package provided by Fast, Chen & Bernstein.
From what I gathered it is using a couple of seed terms to create a dictionary based on unsupervised learning. Now I am trying to find out which categories are build based on the seed terms I am giving - I don’t know which function to use to do so.

Generally I am getting a result from an analysis with the following - but I am not sure if it is the right approach and can not find many information on the matter:

import pandas as pd
import re
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt

Load the dataset

file_path = ‘C:/Users/katja/OneDrive/Dokumente/R_Earnings_Calls/filtered_earningscalls_semiconductor.xlsx’
df = pd.read_excel(file_path)

Ensure the date column is in datetime format

df[‘date’] = pd.to_datetime(df[‘date’], errors=‘coerce’)

Define the custom dictionary with seed words

custom_dict = {
“government”: [“regulation”, “federal”, “law”, “policy”, “government”, “Government”],
“incentive”: [“subsidy”, “tax break”, “reward”, “grant”, “incentive”, “incentives”],
“negotiate”: [“bargain”, “deal”, “discuss”, “arrange”, “negotiate”, “negotiating”, “negotiated”, “negotiation”, “negotiations”, “compromise”],
“pressure”: [“force”, “stress”, “coerce”, “compel”, “pressure”, “enormous_pressure”, “intense_pressure”, “great_pressure”, “political_pressure”]
}

Compile regular expressions for each topic

compiled_keywords = {topic: re.compile(r’\b(’ + ‘|’.join(words) + r’)\b’, re.IGNORECASE) for topic, words in custom_dict.items()}

Function to check for keywords

def detect_keywords(text, regex):
return bool(regex.search(text)) if pd.notna(text) else False

Detect keywords in the dataset

for topic, regex in compiled_keywords.items():
df[topic] = df[‘component_text’].apply(lambda x: detect_keywords(x, regex))

Extract year from the date column

df[‘year’] = df[‘date’].dt.year