Gathering data from outside source

Something I would really like to do with a program is to have it collect data from games I play on Steam. I am not experienced enough with programming to know if this can be done and definitely not how to do it. To be more specific there is a game I play called Civilization. Its a turn based PVP game. What I hope to accomplish is to make a program that collects data over a certain amount of turns in the game and can put that data into graphs or tables that I can check later. Any help/answers that can be provided would be much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

There’s no general mechanism that would work from any Steam game, but Civ 6 has a relatively active modding scene, and I imagine you could make a mod that would gather these data for you (assuming you’re playing against the AI or custom matches, rather than online random). That’s not really a Python question, but here seems like a decent place to start. You would then output the into some format (CSV, etc) that you could ingest into Python, using e.g. Pandas and Matplotlib to plot it.

Best of luck!

Thank you for the information. I again don’t have much experience with python, but I know it’s one of the bigger languages. So, do you know of any good articles or websites for learning about CSV or other output formats?