Hello - Coming up to speed on what makes Python Python, especially for flight critical concerns

Hello - Coming up to speed on what makes Python Python, especially for flight critical concerns.

Looking for any and all information for the following:
(1) Use of Python for flight critical applications,
(2) Python coding standards like MISRS, JSF, Cert C, etc.,
(3) Coverage analysis tools like VectorCast, Rapita, etc. for MC/DC coverage,
(4) Deployment on RTOS like LynxOS, GreenHills, WindRiver, etc.
(5) Metrics for the Python Virtual Machine, e.g., SLOC, memory, etc.

Thanks again for welcoming me into the community to come up to speed.

Welcome to Python, @JustADude !

Flight critical systems, eh? That sounds interesting. I am a recreational pilot. I am interested in how people apply software tech to flight.

You have a lot of questions, on a lot of different areas. You might get farther making a separate forum topic for each subject area. That will make the discussion threads more manageable. Also, you use a lot of buzzwords that I don’t recognise. Consider turning each buzzword into a link pointing to a webpage that explains the buzzword. That makes it easier for people to a) learn something interesting, and b) understand what you mean and related it to what they know.

I will have a go at giving what answers I think I can.

I have not heard of anyone doing this, in so many words. However, you might start by asking, do the developers of Python think it is designed for safety-critical work of any kind? Much use of Python is in personal computing or server computing which is not safety-critical. If bugs occur, the program might crash, and life goes on. I imagine that is not the standard appropriate for flight critical applications.

You might want to take a look at the Python license agreement. It says in part,

…PSF MAKES NO AND DISCLAIMS ANY REPRESENTATION OR
WARRANTY OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR ANY PARTICULAR PURPOSE…