Help with a citation map script

I am a researcher working on a review article and need a citation map for illustration. This script promises that: GitHub - jaks6/citation_map: Create a Gephi Citation Graph based on Text Analysis of PDFs from Zotero

However, when I run it, it abruptly ends on an unexpected end of file exception. Can anyone help me? (I am in the social sciences. I have some computer nerd tendencies, but am a complete amateur in coding, so help from the learned community would be much appreciated!) This, specifically, is the error message:

multiprocessing.pool.RemoteTraceback: 
"""
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pdfminer/pdfdocument.py", line 721, in __init__
    pos = self.find_xref(parser)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/pdfminer/pdfdocument.py", line 978, in find_xref
    raise PDFNoValidXRef("Unexpected EOF")
pdfminer.pdfdocument.PDFNoValidXRef: Unexpected EOF

During handling of the above exception, another exception occurred:

File "/usr/lib/python3.10/multiprocessing/pool.py", line 125, in worker
    result = (True, func(*args, **kwds))
  File "/usr/lib/python3.10/multiprocessing/pool.py", line 48, in mapstar
    return list(map(*args))
  File "/home/kenstad/Dokumenter/pythonscripts/citation_map-master/analyze_papers.py", line 156, in article_worker
    pdf_result, text, pdf_log = process_pdf(metadata)
  File "/home/kenstad/Dokumenter/pythonscripts/citation_map-master/analyze_papers.py", line 115, in process_pdf
    original_page_count, pages = pdf_to_text_list(first_pdf)
  File "/home/kenstad/Dokumenter/pythonscripts/citation_map-master/analyze_papers.py", line 35, in pdf_to_text_list
    pages = layout_scanner.get_pages(file_loc, images_folder=None)  # you can try os.path.abspath("output/imgs")
  File "/home/kenstad/Dokumenter/pythonscripts/citation_map-master/layout_scanner.py", line 214, in get_pages
    return with_pdf(pdf_doc, _parse_pages, pdf_pwd, *tuple([images_folder]))