Help with a Line Counter

I’m almost a complete beginner when it comes to Python, so I was hoping somebody could help me with a pretty specific program. Basically, I want it to count the lines between lines with a specific number.

For example, say you have the data below in a .csv file. I want it to count the lines between lines with a “56” in them.

4, 7, 24, 56, 98, 104, 194

1, 23, 45, 67, 78, 98, 101

3, 24, 35, 65, 67, 89, 99

6, 7, 45, 56, 77, 98, 156

8, 12, 16, 24, 78, 94, 111

5, 10, 21, 32, 56, 78, 82

How would I make the output say the following?

I’m not even sure if this is possible in Python, but if it is, I’d appreciate any help I could get.

Hello. @Ruthless12, and welcome to Python Software Foundation Discourse!

Yes, it can be done in Python.

We should get some clarification regarding possible special cases. What should be output if the input is as follows?:

1, 23, 45, 67, 78, 98, 101

4, 7, 24, **56,** 98, 104, 194

6, 7, 45, **56,** 77, 98, 156

3, 24, 35, 65, 67, 89, 99

In that case, it should output 1 and 1. It should count all of the lines at the start and end of the file without a 56 in them. Hopefully I’m explaining it well enough.

1, 23, 45, 67, 78, 98, 101 - Since there is no 56 above this line, it would count it as 1 line.

4, 7, 24, **56,** 98, 104, 194 - It would skip this since it has a 56.

6, 7, 45, **56,** 77, 98, 156 - It would skip this since it also has a 56.

3, 24, 35, 65, 67, 89, 99 - It would count this as 1 line.

Then the output would be:

You mean you want to suppress the zero-counts in the output? In your first example without the zero suppression it would be:

In the second example:

BTW: Do not you want that someone writes the complete program for you? Why do not you show what you already tried and which problems you encountered?