How can build backends avoid breaking users when they make backwards incompatible changes?

Is there any sensible/obvious way to show these warnings to the package developers but not the end user? Does that just have to be a user-specified front-end option? (Maybe it can be on by default for editable installs, but that’s far from universal.)

The best person to show the warnings to is the one who can fix them. And if they mistake it for an error, well, then they’ll fix it and no harm done :slight_smile:

2 Likes