How to refactor

Working problems for experience, my answer is on top. They both work. The second one was in the book example and I think this is a good test bed for explaining refactoring. The script takes a word and prints it backward one line at a time.

word = input('Enter a word: ')
for letters in word[::-1]: # print letters in reverse
    print(letters)

word = input('Enter a word: ')
length = len(word)
num = 1
for x in word:
    position = length - num
    letter = word[position]
    print(letter)
    num = num + 1

Thanks for the explaination. Great forum.

1 Like

Thank you, @woodturner550 . Are you asking a question, or showcasing the results of your refactoring?

No I’m new to Python. Been reading and trying to put in practice what I have learned so far. I knew the the second script was a ‘smell code’. I to know how one writes a poor code, OK how did you get from the poor code to the upper code. I believe it can be done using the ‘write each step out and look at the steps’ just like for any program. It was not followed in the second example. They had to many steps and objects. They needed to reduce the steps and object to what is necessary. This is what I think, don’t know for sure yet.
Thanks for your time and explaining that my final code would be a refactoring of the poor code. Tells me there is hope for me yet.

You refactor is quite good, Leonard. If you’re interested in refactoring further, you can do away with the loop entirely by using str.join to insert a newline character (\n) between each letter:

word = input("Enter a word: ")
reverse = word[::-1]
as_lines = "\n".join(reverse)
print(sep_lines)

or as a single line:

print("\n".join(input("Enter a word: ")[::-1]))

If the objective is to print the letters in reversed order then we can skip the building of new string with join:

>>> word = "spam"
>>> print(*word[::-1], sep="\n")
m
a
p
s