Problems In Virtual Environment - SUDO and NUMPY

I’m running a Waveshare 2.13 eIink HAT on a RPI Zero W running 32 bit Bullseye Lite.

I am following the RPI Setup Instructions with the deviation I set up a Python Virtual Environment. So I ran the script as sudo ~/tpcc_venv/bin/python TP2in13_V4_test.py. This returned the infamous NUMPY error “libopenblas.so.0: cannot open shared object file”.

On the chance there was an issue between SUDO, some of the software and VENV, I created a new user and reran the tests, without a virtual environment, and it worked.

There are a lot of complicated pieces here that I don’t understand, and, this is my first attempt at building a Python project inside a VENV. I’m looking to see if anyone has any guidance.

Thanks

You may need to set LD_LIBRARY_PATH to include the dir where libopenblas.so.0 is located so that it can be found.

Thanks @barry-scott but how is one to know to set LD_LIBRARY_PATH when working in VENV? Remember, this demo works outside of VENV but not inside it. LD_LIBRARY_PATH is not set inside or outside if VENV on my RPI.

Your problem is mysterious to me. A python venv is essentially nothing more than a directory tree, containing a Python executable (plus corresponding special lib dependencies and support files, etc) plus a set of (active) environment variables (making that Python executable the default one). Once you have activated the venv (basically by exporting those env variables), you don’t have to (and should not) use “sudo” to run python. (I don’t know specifics about the PI, but I believe this also applies at least to the “Bookworm” release.)