Request for membership

Hi everyone.
I just want to take a moment and introduce myself, as I would like to become a PyPA member.

My name is Julie Jones. I have been a software developer for 30+ years and Python has become my passion. I’ve used it professionally for almost 20 years. I primarily worked at startup companies and really enjoyed helping them get past the first hump and implement repeatable processes and tools. I championed and instituted continuous integration at multiple companies, so I do have a significant background in the area of dev tooling. I love automating the repetitive parts of development.

Over the years I have seen the python packaging ecosystem evolve slowly. It now seems like it is a priority and much effort is being spent to bring it to par with all the other language ecosystems. I would like to contribute.

I have been doing extensive research into the current tool-set and inhibitors to python development, both by newcomers and experienced pythonistas, where it is more of an efficiency issue. I think the python community is going to see huge changes in the next few years. I am finally in a position to devote significant time to the Python community and I would like to participate.

Thanks,
Julie

4 Likes

Hi Julie, welcome to the community!

We have a governance document, PEP 609, which describes how the PyPA operates. On the topic of individual membership in the PyPA, it says:

This is for members of individual projects to decide, as they add new members to their projects. Maintainership of a project that is under the PyPA organization automatically transfers membership in the PyPA.