Using closure for class privates?

Hello. I’m relatively new to Python, and find it to be a truly wonderful language. One thing I’m not so fond of, however, is the awkward syntax in class definitions. An alternative to the standard style of defining classes is to make use of the constructor’s function closure in a way that I usually do in Javascript, inspired to by Douglas Crockford’s Javascript The Good Parts.

Let me show you what I mean. I teach basic algorithms from the book by Sedgewick and Wayne that has a lot of example code in Java. Some of my students are more comfortable with Python than Java, and to help them, I ported some of the book’s code to Python. The following is my version of the book’s code for breadth-first search in a directed graph, written in the constructor closure style. (Scroll down for a “standard” Python class implementation if you’d like to start with that.)

import collections

class BFS:
    def __init__(self, G, s):
        edge_to = [-1] * G.V();
        dist_to = [-1] * G.V();

q = collections.deque()
        q.append(s)
        dist_to[s] = 0
        while q:                      # while q not empty
            v = q.popleft()
            for w in G.adj(v):
                if dist_to[w] < 0:     # if w not visited
                    q.append(w)
                    edge_to[w] = v
                    dist_to[w] = dist_to[v] + 1

def path(v):
            if dist_to[v] < 0:
                return None
            p = [v]
            while v != s:
                v = edge_to[v]
                p.append(v)
            p.reverse()
            return p

self.has_path_to = lambda v: dist_to[v] >= 0
        self.dist_to = lambda v: dist_to[v]
        self.path_to = path

Of course, this is not how Python classes are usually written. Translating to what I understand as the standard style gives me this:

import collections

class BFS:
    def __init__(self, G, s):
        self.__s = s
        self.__edge_to = [-1] * G.V();