A command to return the maximum index of a list or array - the better len

Hello :smiley:,

short form: Let’s have something called like lix() that is defined as len()-1, please!
def lix(obj, /): return len(obj) - 1

Motivation: When I started coding in python a few years ago, I did not understand the general use, why len() returns one more than the maximum valid index. Yes it makes sense from the linguistic approach, but coding wise at least I was ever more so often interested in the maximum index of e.g. MyList. However a few hours into coding I was okay with using len()-1 in those cases. I guess most get used to this very fast.
But yesterday I watched The Worst Programming Language Ever - Mark Rendle - NDC Oslo 2021 - YouTube. and somewhere in his talk he points out that this inconvenience exists in any programming language, despite the fact one wants to know the maximum index of a list or array in most of the cases.
So now, that I am not alone on this and recall my first thoughts about this, I asked myself: Why not improve on this? I will definitely define lix() for myself in my codes and I don’t know a good reason, why this should not be an improvement. It is a very lightweight but neat feature and any newcomer will certainly find this useful too.

Why the name lix()? I thought combining len, “index” and also maybe “maximum”, lix() would make a memorisable and sufficiently easy to spell command. However I certainly love to see an even better command for this! After all it is about convenience.

Disclamer: I am absolutely no expert in python and don’t know how big of a deal it is to add something to the standard library. However (programming) languages are changing over time and this simple change seemed apparent when I started coding until I got used to it.