Any harm in idle threads?

now that i have some threading working, i’m building some simple logic and was wondering if leaving a thread to just idle in an if..then loop has any real negative performance cost? to whit, if the check fails, the thread does no work, but continues to check in the event the check succeeds. the expectation is that the thread will run virtually in-perpetuity, restarting only on device power cycle, which ranges from bi-weekly, to quarterly. even as i type this, i think it’s a stupid question, but i can’t leave any stone unturned because i’m new to threading in Python.

If what you mean by “leaving the thread idle in a loop” is anything like this:

while True:
    if some_variable:
        break

Then this is not idling at all, this will consume the full power of your Python application in a certain sense. If you want to make a thread wait on a condition to happen, take a look at threading.Event.

nope. like this:

while True:
    if thing == 'banana':
        # do stuff

the idea being, the thread doesn’t really do anything until the flag is changed. i’ll look @ threading.Event though. but i am curious about the impact of the above.

Still a busy loop. It will continuously check the condition.

1 Like

okay. i thought so. but wanted to confirm. is that not similar to waiting for the event though? same cycles, no? or is that different?

Nope, that’s called busy-waiting.

No, when you wait for an event, there is no loop. One thread will simply call event.wait(), which will block until the event is set. Blocking the waiting thread is what you want: instead of the thread repeatedly asking “are we there yet? what about now?” (which consumes computing power), it will be put to sleep and will be waken up when the event is set. This means that, at some time, in some other thread, you will have to call event.set().

1 Like